Towel Day Memory

When I was sixteen (the same age my daughter is now), I wrote a letter to Douglas Adams. And he wrote back. Happy Towel Day! (This is a scan of a copy of the letter; I can’t find the original. I also can’t find the original postcard I got from Isaac Asimov the same year. I’m sure they’re together somewhere, very safe.)
DouglasAdamsLetter1982

Transcript: Dear Penny Richards: Thank you very much for your letter about The Hitch-hiker’s Guide to the Galaxy. I’m very glad that you enjoyed it so much. I just make up names like Zaphod Beebblebrox from out of my heads. You may be interested to know that there is a third and last book of the Hitch-hiker’s Guide to the Galaxy coming out in September, published by Crown Books called Life, The Universe, and Everything. I hope you enjoy that too. I don’t know of any Hitch-hiker fan clubs in the US, but a science fiction bookshop, such as Forbidden Planet in New York, or a Change of Hobbit in L.A., should be able to tell you. There is a six episode TV version of Hitch Hiker which was made here in England a couple of years ago, and I believe that this is starting to sell in a few areas in the States now, for showing on the PBS channel. best wishes, Douglas Adams

Leave a Reply

