Flickr Commons Shoes



Flickr Commons Shoes, originally uploaded by pennylrichardsca.

Turns out that, whatever you can do with a purse, you can probably do with the right shoes, too. Made these for myself with some thrifted Dansko shoes in my size, and the usual paint and collage I do on purses. The image is May Bradford, an Australian pilot, in 1934. I liked her goggles. 😉

7 Responses to “Flickr Commons Shoes”

  1. Lisa Clarke Says:

    These are great! I’m a big fan of painting one’s shoes, but the few times I’ve bought thrift-shop shoes for that purpose, I’ve ended up liking them too much as-is, and not painting them at all!

    Those are definitely going to be conversation-starters.

  2. Penny Says:

    One of the reasons I thrifted them was that I wanted shoes I wasn’t attached to yet… wouldn’t let myself wear them before painting them! But now that I’ve experimented, I feel confident painting one of the loved-but-scuffed pairs already in the closet.

  3. Halle G Says:

    So cool! How they they would be to wear around!

  4. pennylrichardsca Says:

    Well, I wore them all day today as a test, and they passed–comfortable and fun!

  5. Debbie Goodrow Says:

    Oh I love these!

    I have a horrible time finding shoes – women are just NOT suppose to have size 12WWW feet. *sigh* The few that I can find are black or white, and boring. Would you share what materials you are using to paint shoes? And are you ‘sanding’ them or anything beforehand to give the paint a purchase on slick leather?

    Please help this artist escape from my boring shoe options!!!

    Member of Southern Connecticut Polymer Clay Guild
    http://www.SCPCG.org

    Debbie
    DeeFreecycle at Gmail dot com

    Thanks…..

  6. pennylrichardsca Says:

    Hi Debbie!

    If you’re already an arts & crafts type, this should be easy and fun! The basic instructions for purses should work for shoes:
    https://pennamite.wordpress.com/alteredpursetutorial

    Sanding would probably be a good idea with patent leather; I didn’t sand these, but they were already a bit scuffed. I’m still experimenting, because shoes get more flexing and abuse than purses do–will be playing with leather paints soon, and a latex primer has also been suggested.

  7. creativelifestudio Says:

    I saw these on Ravelry and followed over here. These are uber cool. I avoid leather, since I’m vegan, but used shoes would fit the bill for me. I’m going to have a look at your tutorial. Thanks so much for sharing and I’m glad to have found you! 🙂

    ~ Nicole

Leave a Reply

