What I read in 2009

BG=Book Group selection.  I’m in two book groups (and sometimes a third), so a lot of my reading is driven by that.  These are numbered in chronological order, from January to December.  I don’t read very fast, and I don’t read a lot of short books, so 23 books in a year is kinda good for me.

1. April Witch (Majgull Axelsson)

2. People of the Book (Geraldine Brooks) BG

3. Planet of the Blind (Stephen Kuusisto) BG

4. A Fraction of the Whole (Steve Toltz) BG

5. Idiocy: A Cultural History (Patrick McDonagh)

6. Out of Joint (Mary Felstiner) BG

7. The Book Borrower (Alice Mattison) BG

8. The Unheard (Josh Swiller) BG

9. The Diagnosis (Alan Lightman)

10. Unaccustomed Earth (Jhumpa Lahiri) BG

11. The Air We Breathe (Andrea Barrett) BG

12. A Blind Man Can See How Much I Love You (Amy Bloom)

13. When We Were Orphans (Kazuo Ishiguro) BG

14. Black Snake Green (David Mitchell)

15. The Peppered Moth (Margaret Drabble)

16. Franklin Flyer (Nicholas Christopher) BG

17. The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (Steig Larsson) BG

18. The Monsters of Templeton (Lauren Groff)

19. The Fig Eater (Jody Shields)

20. The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society (Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows) BG

21. Hippolyte’s Island  (Barbara Hodgson)

22. The Confessions of Madame Psyche (Dorothy Bryant)

23.  Up in the Air (Walter Kirn) BG

Tags: ,

9 Responses to “What I read in 2009”

  1. Lene Says:

    I’ve just finished The Girl who Played with Fire and am consumed (!) by the series. Excellent books.

    Been considering People of the Book – how is it?

  2. pennylrichardsca Says:

    People of the Book is good–very readable, interesting, another book where Brooks embroiders a story around an existing text.

  3. What I read in 2010 « Pennamite Says:

    […] I read in 2010 By pennylrichardsca See past editions of the list, here and […]

  4. What I read in 2011 « Pennamite Says:

    […] past editions of the list, here and […]

  5. What I read in 2012 « Pennamite Says:

    […] past editions of the list, here and here and here and […]

  6. What I read in 2013 | Pennamite Says:

    […] editions of this list:  2012, 2011, 2010, 2009, 2008.  This list is also available in pictorial format at […]

  7. What I read in 2014 | Pennamite Says:

    […] editions of this list: 2013, 2012, 2011, 2010, 2009, 2008. This list is also available in pictorial format at […]

  8. What I read in 2015 | Pennamite Says:

    […] editions of this list: 2014, 2013, 2012, 2011, 2010, 2009, 2008. This list is also available in pictorial format at […]

  9. What I read in 2016 | Pennamite Says:

    […] editions of this list: 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012, 2011, 2010, 2009, 2008. This list is also available in pictorial format at […]

Leave a Reply

