Pants Apron, 1972–BUT WHY?



Pants Apron, 1972, originally uploaded by Woof Nanny.

Been poking around vintage patterns on Flickr, always entertaining (for me). This puzzler looks like twice the work for half the apron… with all that extra, useless coverage on the shins.

Yes, it says “detachable potholders.”

4 Responses to “Pants Apron, 1972–BUT WHY?”

  1. Knitting Clio Says:

    Do any patterns from the 1970s make sense? At least there’s a guy with an apron on.

  2. jujyfruit Says:

    That is hilarious!

    Yes, they really are impractical. Seems they were designed purely to say “I am woman, hear me roar…as I cook wearing PANTS!” And, “Real men eat quiche…that they cook THEMSELVES!”

    (The women may have owned their statement, but somehow I suspect the men had the statement presented to them. heh)

  3. RST Says:

    Nice. These are due a revival, I feel sure. I’m wondering if I have the spinal range to tie my own apron chaps at the knee, or if I would require assistance.

    Is the feminine potholder/pocket also detachable, or is it more of a marsupial style pouch? Hard to tell from the picture.

    RST

  4. pennylrichardsca Says:

    Put it in your therapy goals, RST:

    “RST will tie a pants apron around both knees with minimal assistance, 4 out of 5 attempts.”

Leave a Reply

