44

When I want to remember the US Presidents in order, my mind conjures images:  I see the posters Miss McNulty put up on our fourth-grade classroom walls, one for each president through Nixon.  It was 1975, so there should have been a poster for Gerald Ford, but I guess she bought the set before Ford took over.   Each poster had a portrait and some facts–birth and death dates, place of birth, term in office, party, ethnicity, religion (I remember being fascinated that only one of them was Catholic, living in a town where most folks were Catholic).  Those are the pictures I see when I hear “Van Buren” or “Fillmore.”

The poster my daughter will remember appeared on her classroom wall (well, window) yesterday:

Scholastic poster of 44 presidents

Scholastic poster of 44 presidents

Count them.  44.

One Response to “44”

  1. LisaWV Says:

    HURRAY! I want a copy of that poster. I’m going to poke around online for one. How wonderful!

Leave a Reply

