Doppelganger alert, #6 and #7

This isn’t me either.  But this Penny Richards, senior programme officer of the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation and co-editor of AIDS Sutra:  Untold Stories from India seems to be the same Penny Richards who used to be minister at the Australian Embassy in Japan.  But I don’t think she’s the same Penny Richards who was/is Singapore bureau editor for the BBC, and head of BBC Asia bureau.   Must be two different women.  Some formidable doppelgangers working in Asia!

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Doppelganger alert, #6 and #7”

  1. Penny Richards Says:

    Hello
    I am the Penny Richards working for the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation in India, and I used to work for the BBC.
    I have a feeling the other Penny refered to here went to Geelong Grammar School in Australia. I went to a wedding once in Melbourne where everyone told me how much I’d changed, then realised I was a different one.
    Who are you? the Mills and Boon author?

  2. pennylrichardsca Says:

    Oh wow, you’re the first “doppelganger” to leave a comment! Welcome! Looks like you’re doing some mighty fine work. So you’re not the one who was at the embassy in Tokyo? Because she seems also to have been interested in public health and AIDS in Asia. Huh! I’ll have to rewrite the post to reflect this correction.

    I’m the Penny Richards from Pennsylvania who does disability history and lives in Los Angeles. (See my sidebar for further clarification.)

    Funny about being mistaken for the other Australian PR at a wedding in Melbourne. I’m not the English historian Penny Richards, but my own mother once mistook one of her articles for something I might have written. And my cousin was so entertained to find the romance novelist called Penny Richards that he sent me a paperback of “The Ranger and the Schoolmarm” by her.

Leave a Reply

