Frankenblouse #1

Frankenblouse #1, originally uploaded by pennylrichardsca.

One of my reasons for learning to sew is that I have a closet full of thrifted clothes that don’t fit me, but that I like for some reason, and want to wear somehow. So I’m putting together the best parts of two blouses to make one–thus, “Franken-blouse.” This is the result of my first attempt–and I’m pretty happy with it!

The solid peachy-pink blouse I used in its entirety–just slit it down the front. Then I attached much of the front of a second blouse, and reused the sleeve trim from the second blouse too. No extra trim or fabric required–and now two garments that were only taking up closet space are replaced with one garment that will actually see some wear. Yeah!

(Project also posted to Wardrobe Refashion.)

Tags: , , ,

5 Responses to “Frankenblouse #1”

  1. ladybean73 Says:

    I love this!! Who’d have thought to put two tops together like that? Certainly not I. Wow, now I want to dig in my closet for things I can’t fit and see what I can do with them. Thank you for your inspiration!

  2. Grace Says:

    I have been meaning to hold a wardrobe refashion bee at my house. You are invited. Let’s set a date!

  3. Lisa Clarke Says:

    Now, see, you are the *perfect* person to have a sewing machine, because you can do such cool things as this! That is a very “you” blouse. I love it! It reminds me a bit of some of the things I’ve seen lorimarsha do. Have you seen her things? I first ran across her on flickr, and later saw her in an issue of Belle Armoire.

  4. Julie Says:

    Penny, you need to check out this new technique I’ve been hearing about lately using recycled t-shirts and reverse applique. I first read about it here http://benandbirdy.blogspot.com/2008/07/on-t-shirt-skirts-not-being-control.html (scroll towards end for photos). The source book is called the Alabama Stitch Book — looks great, but haven’t got my hands on a copy yet. You must visit the artist/book website, too, http://www.projectalabama.com to see this stuff — gorgeous, expensive, luxurious-looking….and we can make it at home!! (well, simpler versions, anyway) Enjoy!

  5. Julie Says:

    Oops! It’s come to my attention that I misinformed you in my last comment. The projectalabama website I mentioned is NOT associated with the Alabama Stitch Book author any more. She is doing her own thing over here now: http://www.alabamachanin.com/AboutUs/AboutAlabamaChanin.htm.
    Similar work, but seems to be a more local venture (and philosophy). Still very cool, definitely worth looking at. (project instructions available there, too!)

    Julie

Leave a Reply

